May 03, 2014

Bobby P.

10/10 Would Stay Again

We stayed in late February so didn't get to make use of the extensive collection of water equipment, but the skating and ice fishing were great, and the house was exactly what one could hope for. The ten of us were completely comfortable in the spacious bedrooms upstairs, and loved the spiral staircase which led down to the enormous living room/kitchen and dining room area below which would have been large enough for a group twice our size.

The house had everything we could want, was clean, warm, and boasted beautiful views of the lake from nearly anywhere you stood inside. The only issues were a quick heating system outage which was fixed within the hour of reporting it (simply had to push the reset button so that's probably our own ignorance) and an icy driveway, which were very minor issues in the scope of a great vacation.

The owner was highly attentive and responsive to email inquiries and deposit was returned right away. Had a great time and would definitely return again.
 
Source: HomeAway​  Read More

Jan 15, 2013

katewilcox@comcast.net
Philadelphia, Pa

Christmas Visit

This was the perfect house for us while visiting family in Charlotte for the Christmas holiday. Only 7 miles from our relatives the house was spacious and well stocked. The bedrooms were large and the living area accommodated 7 of us easily. Definitely a better solution than a hotel. Thanks.
 
Source: HomeAway​  Read More

JuN 4, 2014

Sam E.

Get together..

•Great location with a wonderful view of the lake

•Enough or More than enough towels, pillows and sheets.

•Clean linens

•Clean and new utensils in the Kitchen, very good kitchen appliances

•TV in most /all rooms with DirectTV access

•Washer / Dryer facility

•Internet connection

•15 - 20 minutes away from Burlington Center

•Wonderful dining area

- It would be nice to have some kind of gate near the stairs for kids safety

Overall our stay was very pleasant.

Submitted: Jun 4, 2014
 
Stayed: May 2014
 
Source: HomeAway​  Read More

guest reviews

Jul 18, 2014

Linda R.

Great Vermont lake house

We recently rented this property for a family get together. It was perfectly located for us between Boston & Ottawa while having good access to Shelburne Farms, swimming, hiking, etc..

There was plenty of room for all 10 of us to be together but still have space and it was particularly nice to all fit around the dining table. The little kids loved the swingset.

And the views over the lake - particularly in early morning and at sunset are truly spectacular. Lots of fish and the occasional turtle to be seen from the dock too.

To address some of the other concerns that had been in the reviews (and had given us pause) - the house was very clean, but it is a "lake house" in a rustic setting so guests do need to be prepared for some critters (ants, spiders, etc.). And there is a spiral staircase which made us a bit nervous with our "just-learned-to-walk" toddler but if you keep a close eye on them, it's OK.

The owner was extremely responsive both during the booking and when we had questions after arriving.

All in all, we had a great stay and would come again.


Submitted: Jul 18, 2014
 
Stayed: Jul 2014
 
Source: HomeAway​  Read More

MAY 26, 2015

Theresa W.

Lovely Setting, Good Proximity to MANY neat places

We had a fantastic stay with my entire family for the UVM graduation weekend. There was NEVER a bored person among the bunch! It's a beautiful setting that is in the middle of TONS to do. We enjoyed the boats, the fire pit, the view, and the ease in getting to and from many spots around the house. Sitting on the porch in the early evening was heaven. It was a doable distance to get to a VERY early graduation. If folks have trouble with spiral staircases (it was pretty cool!) should enter down the outside steps. This was a bit difficult for the elder members of the family. It was cold the first night and the property managers came and filled the oil tank for heat right away! We couldn't have asked for any more attentiveness. Very clean: we wish we could have stayed longer!

Submitted: May 26, 2015
 
Stayed: May 2015
 
Source: HomeAway​  Read More

May 23, 2014

Meera V.

Graduation family reunion

​The lake house was beautifully situated and we had plenty of space. The kitchen was well stocked with lots of dinnerware and silverware that we were able to use. As far as amenities, it was perfect for us, with enough bedding, camp beds and towels. The downstairs was a beautiful central point to hang out. We also made full use of the peddle oats and canoes.

There was a musty smell upon arrival, but after we turned the dehumidifier for about 3 hours it was pleasant. We had a great experience and I would definitely stay there again. The owners were also quite accommodating as far as special requirements.

Thank you for a wonderful vacation.
 
Source: HomeAway​  Read More

Pristene lakefront property - charming, quiet, and rustic for nature lovers.

AUG 14, 2014


FrankN'Beans
Albany NY

Awesome Property

A few co-workers and I recently stayed this rental. House was VERY clean upon arrival and no "smell" was in the air. House is much bigger than it appears to be from the outside. The night before your reservation, the owner e-mailed me asking me if I had forgot anything, so she could accommodate. Very friendly people to deal with. I wish we could have stayed longer!! Also, the fishing was awesome!! Great location in a secluded area, I would definitely stay again!


Submitted: Aug 14, 2014
 
Stayed: Aug 2014
 
Source: HomeAway​  Read More

oct 19, 2012

Ken L.

Great Property. Great location

Travelling around New England we stayed in some great places but this was our favourite. It is spacious-- both in the bedrooms and in the lounge/dining area-and is spotlessly clean There are laundry and good cooking facilities and all necessary facilities for self catering-- such as towels, kitchen towels etc are provided.

It is situated right on lovely Cedar Lake and, if the weather permits, there are outside sitting and eating areas. the lake itself is very pretty, especially in the Fall.

It is handily situated for some wonderful areas, such as the Mad River Valley and only about 45 mins drive to Stowe.

The owner had thoughtfully left lots of leaflets and ideas for places to visit.

We would happily have spent the whole vacation here and plan to return one day.

One slight downside,(maybe) is that it isn't ideally located within easy reach of restaurants BUT, with such a nice property, who would want to eat out?
 
Source: HomeAway​  Read More

Oct 27, 2015

Debdip G.

A very good house

We were a group of 10 and went to see the fall foliage at Vermont for a weekend. Enjoyed our stay a lot at this place. The house had adequate space for all of us to sleep comfortably. The kitchen, dining and living room downstairs are big and spacious. Absolutely loved the porch with views to the lake. The fire pit by the lake is another nice thing about the house and we took full advantage of it during the evening time. Everything (Burlington, Stowe, Ben&Jerry’s etc.) are all close by and within 30-40 mins. The house needs some updates inside that are mostly cosmetic and if that is done this it will become a perfect paradise. That is the only reason I am giving 4 stars to this property and leaving that 1 star for the owner as a room for improvement. I Apart from that everything was fine with the house. In all we loved our stay and will be back if we get a chance!!

Submitted: Oct 27, 2015
 
Stayed: Oct 2015
 
Source: HomeAway. Read More

SEP 17, 2015

Rob. G

Great!

Second time-away spent here, lovely lakehouse.

5/5 would stay again


Submitted: Sep 17, 2015
 
Stayed: Sep 2015
 
Source: HomeAway​  Read More

Jul 14, 2014

Melody D.

We had fun!

This is a terrific house for a family gathering. Lots of space, plenty of beds, big kitchen, awesome screen porch, lovely property. Monkton Pond/Cerdar Lake is beautiful to look at and great for fishing. And best of all for our family, we could hang out till the wee hours around the campfire by the shore and not bother anyone!


Submitted: Jul 14, 2014
 
Stayed: Jun 2014
 
Source: HomeAway​  Read More

Paradise on Cedar Lake